It had to happen, I guess………

Working on my Lemon Filled cupcakes today. I was very excited, I love lemon. I did everything I usually do and I watched the time closely and look what happened

Horrible

I am so upset, I was really looking forward to sharing these Lemon Filled Cupcakes. I found the yummy recipe at Baking Bits

Baking Bits Recipe
Lemon Filled Cupcakes

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
grated rind from 1 lemon
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 3/4 cup flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup (8 ounces) lemon yogurt ( I used Light Lemon yogurt not full fat)
1 10-ounce jar lemon curd
Powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375F. Line 15 muffin tins with paper liners.

In mixer beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, scraping down sides of bowl. Add lemon rind, lemon juice and vanilla, mix well. Combine dry ingredients and add alternately with yogurt, starting and ending with dry ingredients.

Divide batter among 15 muffin cups. Bake at 375 degrees F. for 16-20 minutes until set and lightly browned. Let sit in pans for 2-3 minutes, then remove to wire rack to cool completely.

Once cool, cut a circle from the top of each cupcake, cutting in towards the center to form a cone-shaped top. Fill middle with about 2 teaspoons of the lemon curd then place top back on. I use a decorating bag with the long tip to insert fillings. I did this on the five that I will share with my taste tester. Repeat with remaining cupcakes. Dust tops with powdered sugar.

Makes 15 cupcakes.

There were about 5 that came out OK, but had really sad little shapes to them. Those I did in the foil liners without a muffin pan. If you can give me any hints on what I might have missed ~ Please post it as a comment. UGH! 😦

I didn’t even put them on a cooling rack, I can’t stand to look at them.

The big mess


The cupcakes that did not get torched at the bottom had a great flavor and a nice texture. Oh well, I guess I will try these again some day, but not today. Maybe I will try something else today.

