Tags

, , ,

Peanut Butter Cupcakes, I baked these for my coworker. He will be my taste tester for these, so I am not sure what they taste like. Oh yeah, and the bottoms are not burnt. I followed the troubleshooting tips from Chockylit. She says to shift your muffin pan after 15 mins in the oven. This seemed to do the trick! But I will also invest in an oven thermometer, she suggested doing this as well. I also followed my blogging friend Stef’s suggestion from Cupcake Project by baking on a higher shelf in the oven.

I found the recipe at epicurious. I also took two of the cupcakes sliced the bottom of one put peanut butter on the bottom, sliced the other and put the cupcake on top and iced them together. Very cool ~ if I say so myself. 😉

Epicurious recipe

For cupcakes
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
Rounded 1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter (I used a little more)
1/2 stick (1/4 cup) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2/3 cup whole milk

For icing
1/3 cup heavy cream
4 oz milk chocolate, finely chopped I used Ghirardelli Semi Sweet Chocolate and I added a little confectioners sugar.
1/3 cup chopped peanuts

Preheat oven to 350°F.
Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.
Beat together peanut butter, butter, and brown sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer at medium speed until blended, about 2 minutes. Add egg and vanilla and beat until fluffy, about 1 minute. Reduce speed to low and add flour mixture and milk alternately in batches, beginning and ending with flour mixture, then mix until just combined.

Divide batter among lined muffin cups (about two-thirds full) and bake in middle of oven until pale golden and a tester inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean, 18 to 20 minutes. Turn cupcakes out onto a rack and cool completely.

Make icing while cupcakes cool:
Bring cream to a boil in a small saucepan, then pour over chocolate in a small bowl. Let stand 1 minute, then whisk until smooth.

To thicken icing to spreading consistency quickly, spread it on a metal baking sheet and chill until thick and glossy, about 5 minutes. Scrape icing back into bowl and stir until smooth. Spread icing on cupcakes and sprinkle with peanuts.

Original Cooks’ notes:

  • If you aren’t pressed for time, chill icing in bowl, uncovered, stirring occasionally, 20 to 30 minutes before spreading on cupcakes.
  • Iced cupcakes keep, chilled in an airtight container, 3 days.

Missed a spot! 🙂

