Tags

, , ,

One of my coworkers has been on me for Red Velvet cupcakes. For some reason, I thought that it would be very very hard to make Red Velvet cupcakes. I followed a recipe that I have in one of my books. They did not turn out like I wanted them to. They turned out more like Chocolate cupcakes with red food coloring. 😦

 

My Red Velvet Cupcakes

  • 4 oz of shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 oz red food coloring
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  1. Preheat oven to 350f
  2. Cream shortening and sugar until light & fluffy
  3. Add eggs beat in one at a time
  4. Make a paste with cocoa & food coloring (Did not make a paste, just clumps)
  5. Add salt and buttermilk
  6. Add flour, vanilla, vinegar, and baking soda mix after adding each one
  7. Fill cups at least halfway
  8. Beat for 15 – 20 mins
Cream Cheese Frosting – This was so yummy! Better than the cupcake
  • 8 oz of cream cheese
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • 1 lb of confectioners sugar ( I did not sift, but I think it would be a good idea to)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  1. Cream together cream cheese and butter until very smooth and fluffy ~ use electric mixer
  2. Add the confectioners sugar in 2 – 4 increments
  3. add vanilla and mix until smooth
* My taste tester really liked these
* One of my co-workers said this was not one of my best cupcakes 😦
