Tags

, , , , , ,

Well I decided to try my hand at a Strawberry Cupcake.  I had a bunch and no one was eating them.  So I started going through my cupcake books looking for the perfect recipe.  I found one that I wanted to try in my “Cupcakes Year-Round” book.  I wanted to try cake flour, I have never used it before and I wanted to see what the big deal was.  I understand that cake flour gives you a different “crumb”.  To me it seems to make the cupcake very moist but heavy.  I would use it again, but I need practice! lol

I used a blueberry recipe and I replaced the blueberry with strawberry.

1 cup unsalted butter

1 cup packed light brown sugar (I used regular brown sugar)  made the cupcake much richer

2 large eggs

1/2 cup milk

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

1and 1/2 cups cake flour

2 cups of fresh blueberries (I used chopped fresh strawberry)

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Line 24 cupcake tins with baking papers.  Place the butter in a medium heatproof bowl placed over a pot of gently simmering water.  When the butter is just melted, whisk in the brown sugar.  Let cool to lukewarm temp. Takes about 4 mins to cool.

Whisk the effs into the  butter-sugar mixture.  Add the milk, vanilla, salt, and baking powder.  Whisk to combine.  Whisk in flour until just combined.  Fold in blueberries. (strawberry)

Fill each baking paper two thirds full.  Bake for 20 mins.

Notes:

I hate that they ask you to whisk this entire recipe.  I much rather use my mixer.  It is a very easy recipe to throw together.

I felt that when you bite into the cupcake it feels like a cupcake, but the weight feels like a muffin. 😦

Also, my cupcake cups did not rise right.  Many of them were to low, so add more than the 2/3 if you are using wide liners.  I used Martha Stewart cupcake liners.

 

Now for the icing experiment.  I wanted to use something I have not tried before that would pipe really nice. I decided to use the Vanilla Cream Frosting recipe from “125 best Cupcake” book.

Let me start by saying the fact that this recipe uses whipping cream, is what should have clued me into the fact this is not a topping you want to use on a cupcake that you are not serving right away.  I feel that it needs to be refrigerated because it has cream in it.  If that is not the case, hit me up and let me know.  I also think that cupcakes from the fridge suck.  So, I would not use this again unless I was serving them right away.  The taste – Yummy!

1 and 1/3 cup of confectioners sugar

1/2 cup of butter

pinch of salt

1/3 cup of whipping cream

1/2 tsp of Vanilla (I used clear Vanilla)

Use electric mixer on low speed, beat together sugar butter and salt until creamy.  Increase speed to high and beat until light and fluffy. Add cream, vanilla, beat until smooth.

Ice your Cupcakes!

KimberleyC

 

PS: My taste taster said they were really yummy and rich!

