Tags

, , ,

Today has been a very busy day.  I don’t think I took a break except to eat lunch.  Today we started working on our second bedroom.  We have been in our home for years and we still have yet to make more out of second bedroom than just a storage room.  We are now in the process of ripping up carpet and getting it ready to create a guest bedroom/office.  God I hope we don’t give up this time and the vision becomes fruition.  So, after we packaged up a library load of books, we drove them to Goodwill.  So we did something “good” and guess what?  On the way home we stopped in a tile store and they had a better tile that we liked for the bathroom and it was the same price!!  Now I’m excited. ~ But we will leave bathroom talk for when we really get started.  OK, so you are probably hear to read about my Champagne~Savarin cake.  I found the recipe via Chowhound at BakingBites.

I blog the good, bad and the ugly…..

This is my first time using a recipe where you need yeast.  So excited to watch it rise.  I think I will need to make this more than once to get it just right.    BakingBites, uses  Champagne I used rum.  For full details on how to make the cake please click here!

Where it went wrong.  So I let the cake cool, when I attempt to remove it from the pan this is what happened.  Oh yeah….

And then again…..

Problems:  I think I sprayed the pan with too much of the baking spray.  I got a little carried away.  I also think 1 cup of rum was just too much.  My taste tester does not think they could drive after eating a slice.  Joking but almost true!   If you make this cake please leave a comment for me and let me know what you do.  I think I may have just rushed it.  If I ever try this again, the cake is staying in the pan over night.  Pluses: Very moist, it had a nice sweet taste, but not overly sweet, Taste Tester Review:  “It was good….”  I will take that because after this nightmare, I thought the verdict would be worst.  Should I just stick to cupcakes???  Ugh!

And on a better note,

Ingredients listed below.  For directions please check them out at Baking Bites.

Champagne Rum  Savarin
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp active dry yeast
3 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup milk, warm (100-110F) (I did not check the temp, I heated milk in the microwave)
6 tbsp butter, very soft
3 large eggs

Champagne Rum  Soaking Syrup
3/4 cup water
1 cup sugar
1 cup champagne or prosecco Rum
1/2 tsp vanilla extract, optional

